New Releases for Sept. 22nd


Alice Donut – Ten Glorious Animals (180g)
Beastie Boys – Hello Nasty: Remastered Edition (180g)
Tom Brosseau – Posthumous Success His third full-length for FatCat marks a huge stylistic shift from the spare, acoustic arrangements of his previous releases. Two producers (Adam Pierce of Mice Parade and Ethan Rose of Small Sails) and a small army of guest musicians help Brosseau flesh and clothe his songs’ sturdy skeletons, lending them breath and presence. Unchanged, however, is Tom’s wit, emotional grasp, and captivating, vibrato-soaked voice. A buoyant, well-crafted, and sprawlingly lovely album. “Brosseau combines Buckley’s swoony delicacy with Nick Drake’s restraint, in the service of a singular songwriting voice” – NPR
Castanets – Texas Rose, The Thaw & The Beasts (+ FLAC download)
Vic Chesnutt – At The Cut (180g + CD copy + Ltd. Ed. poster)
Guy Clark – Somedays The Song Writes You
Infected Mushroom – Legend Of The Black Shawarma (+ bonus download)
Le Loup – Family (+ MP3 card)
Mae – (M)orning
Mudhoney – Superfuzz Bigmuff re-issue (+ MP3 card)
Mudhoney – Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge re-issue (+ MP3 card)
Mudhoney – S/T re-issue (+ MP3 card)
Noisettes – Wild Young Hearts (+ MP3 card)
Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band – Between My Head And The Sky (+ MP3 card) At 76 years young, Yoko continues to kick ass. BETWEEN MY HEAD AND THE SKY, a career-defining album made with her new Plastic Ono Band. The record is a gorgeous, mind-melting blend of styles, restating & sharpening themes while plunging into the always-mysterious future. The band includes Keigo “Cornelius” Oyamada & his band members Yuko Araki & Shimmy Shimizu, Sean Lennon, Yuka Honda (of Cibo Matto) as well as NYC improvisers Erik Friedlander, Shahzad Ismaily, Michael Leonhart, Daniel Carter & Indigo Street
Owen – New Leaves (180g + MP3 card)
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – Come Saturday b/w Side Ponytail 7″
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – Higher Than The Stars 7″
Sea Wolf – White Water, White Bloom (180g 2x LP + 2 B-Sides + MP3 card)
Times New Viking – Born Again Revisited (+ MP3 card)
Volcano Choir – Unmap (+ MP3 card) Volcano Choir is an assembly of Wisconsinites Jon Mueller, Chris Rosenau, Jim Schoenecker, Daniel Spack, Justin Vernon, and Thomas Wincek. You might find these old friends also frequenting records and stages under different monikers, Collections of Colonies of Bees and Bon Iver. The collaboration predates the meteoric rise of Justin Vernon’s Bon Iver project, with original songwriting dating back to the summer of 2005
Why? – Eskimo Snow (+ MP3 card)


Alice Donut – Ten Glorious Animals
Beastie Boys – Hello Nasty: Remastered Edition (+ bonus disc of b-sides & unreleased tracks)
Basement Jaxx – Scars
The Big Pink – A Brief History Of Love There’s something ultimate about London’s The Big Pink. It’s as though they’ve compressed everything that’s great about post-war music into their sound. They’re as accessible as a pop group, with almost folkishly warm melodies, the spiritual quality of soul and gospel, the rhythmic propulsion of rave, the white noise of punk, the glitchy textures of electronica, and the heavy drones of your favourite New York rock bands past and present
Brother Ali – Us
Castanets – Texas Rose, The Thaw & The Beasts z
Vic Chesnutt – At The Cut
Deadmau5 – For Lack Of A Better Name
John Fahey – Essential Recordings: Twilight On Prince Georges Avenue
Lisa Germano – Magic Neighbor
Gonzales – Solo Piano: Deluxe Edition (+ 2-hour DVD) Originally released in 2004, Solo Piano is an incredible instrumental album of delicate compositions from notoriously extravagant Berlin-based showman, Gonzales. Solo Piano: The Deluxe Edition includes the DVD From Major to Minor, the first long-form video to document the universe of Gonzales. The DVD features the videos “Masterclass,” where audience members join Gonzales on stage for surreal music lessons (with special appearances from the Daft Punk robot, Phillipe Katerine, Feist and Teki Latex); “White Gloves,” an all-star concert with Feist, Jamie Lidell and Mocky (one piano, two tambourines, and a guitar); and bonus material including The Piano Battle with classical improviser Jean-Francois Zygel, the legendary Berlin Press Conference, award winning videos, an organ concert/installation, and many more clips, G-spot specials, and embarrassing/triumphant moments
David Gray – Draw The Line
Richard Hawley – Truelove’s Gutter
The Hidden Cameras – Origin:Orphan
Islands – Vapours
LCD Soundsystem – 45:33 Remixes One of the most unique pieces of modern dance music one will ever hear, LCD Soundsystem’s 45:33 was originally a one-off Nike collaboration for iTunes. However, due to overwhelming demand for a proper release, the work was subsequently expanded and made available on CD and vinyl in November, 2007. On 45:33 Remixes, segments of the record are lovingly and respectfully reinterpreted by some of dance music’s most innovative players. With the remixes placed in a sequential order based on the section each artist chose to remix, the whole piece creates a perfect and refreshingly liberal interpretation of the 45:33 album. The global selection of remixers include everyone from Brookyn’s Runaway and Norway’s Prins Thomas to Berlin’s techno technician Riley Reinhold and Paris’ celebrated Pilooski. However, nothing can compete with the special delivery that DFA got from Detroit when Theo Parrish snail-mailed his “Space Cadet Remix”; it will undoubtedly prove to be the most celebrated remix of 2009
Le Loup – Family
Mika – The Boy Who Knew Too Much ( also Deluxe Edition w/ 70 min. DVD)
Amy Millan – Masters Of The Burial
Monsters Of Folk – S/T Monsters of Folk is a collaboration of Conor Oberst, Jim James, M. Ward- three of this generations most critically acclaimed voices and Mike Mogis , one of the most sought after producers working today
Mum – Sing Along To Songs You Don’t Know
Noisettes – Wild Young Hearts
Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band – Between My Head And The Sky
Pastels/Tenniscoats – Two Sunsets
Rain Machine – S/T Rain Machine is a startling new musical venture from Kyp Malone, known to many as guitarist-singer for soulful art rockers TV On The Radio. For Rain Machine, Malone takes the roots influences that have always bubbled beneath the surface in TVOR – blues, gospel, even African music – and brings them to the fore. Performing all the parts himself (with the addition of some soulful female vocals), Malone has fashioned a deeply personal journey through modern life, looking back, as TVOR so often does, on the weight of the history behind us
Sea Wolf – White Water, White Bloom
They Might Be Giants – Here Comes Science
Times New Viking – Born Again Revisited
Volcano Choir – Unmap
Rufus Wainwright – Milwaukee At Last!
Why? – Eskimo Snow A year and a half after releasing the acclaimed Alopecia, Why returns with their fourth album, Eskimo Snow. The two records are perfect foils: while last year’s release delivered intricate rhymes, live loops, slurred hooks, and acerbic wit, Eskimo Snow offers a sung, sobering take on mortality that unfurls in lush waves of Americana and pop-infused psych-folk. Pre-mixed in Nashville by Lambchop’s Mark Nevers (Silver Jews, Bonnie Prince Billy, Calexico) and worked over by Alopecia engineer Eli Crews, this album is Why’s most live-sounding yet–a shadowy and sprawling piece as intimate in subject matter as it is handsome in timbre. Yoni Wolf and the gang actually recorded Eskimo Snow at the same time as Alopecia, at Minneapolis’ Third Ear studio, with Fog’s Andrew Broder and Mark Erickson rounding out a live quintet. The vision for two separate albums emerged on a snowed-in night after a hot toddy or two. If Alopecia, however inexplicably, maintains a summery tone, then Eskimo Snow captures the bite and resignation of the Midwestern winters with which these Cincinnati boys grew up