New releases for August 25th


16 HorsepowerSecret South (180g + DVD-Audio re-issue)
Artic MonkeysHumbug (180g + MP3)
Humbug, the third album from Sheffield’s Arctic Monkeys, finds the band brimming with vim, vigor and new ideas. They brought in a new production accomplice, Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age), for some of the recording. He generously hosted and produced tracks with them at his Joshua Tree studio. Then they rejoined forces with James Ford (Simian Mobile Disco), producer of the previous two Arctic Monkeys and Last Shadow Puppets albums, in Brooklyn, NY to complete the tracks that became Humbug. The album is a stunning set of songs both heavier and more lush than previous albums, but still full of the Monkeys usual punch and vitality
24-Carat BlackGone: The Promises Of Yesterday (Numero 025)
Cat PowerWhat Would The Community Think (re-issue)
John FogertyThe Blue Ridge Rides Again (180g)
JetShaka Rock (180g, CD +vinyl-only track)
KoushikKG Rhythm Traxx v. 5
MatisyahuLight (180g + MP3)
Willie NelsonAmerican Classic
The PostmarksMemoirs At The End Of The World
Their 13-track album combines the band’s proclivity for gritty, atmospheric pop songs with enchanting melodies that draw significant inspiration from film soundtracks. Memoirs is a leap forward for The Postmarks, expressed with ambient textures from dub reggae, horn arrangements from classic soul, and elements of experimentation reminiscent of sounds heard at the birth of electronic music
Smokey RobinsonTime Flies When You’re Having Fun
The Smiths LP re-issues (The Smiths, Meat Is Murder, Strangeways Here We Come, The Queen Is Dead)
Luke VibertWe Hear You (3xLP)
WilcoSummerteeth (180g + CD) re-issue


16 Horsepower – Secret South (CD + DVD-Audio)
Artic Monkeys – Humbug
Blitzen Trapper – Black River Killer EP
As its title would lead one to believe, the Black River Killer EP contains the disturbing and great song “Black River Killer” from Blitzen Trapper’s excellent September 2008 full-length album Furr. What is perhaps less evident from the title is that it also contains six more songs that have been, up to now, only available as a CD that Blitzen Trapper have only been selling at their live performances – until now!
James CarterHeaven On Earth: Live At The Blue Note
JetShaka Rock
Will HogeThe Wreckage
Imogean HeapEllipse
Imogen Heap, singer-songwriter-producer and two time Grammy nominee, is back with her much anticipated new solo album Ellipse! Beginning in Hawaii and working her way through Fiji, Imogen has poured her heart and soul into writing and recording this masterpiece. Recorded in the studio she built in her old family home in Essex, Ellipse further demonstrates Heap’s prowess as the most powerful female singer-songwriter of her generation
Matisyahu – Light
David MeadAlmost And Always
MewNo More Stories…
Ingrid Michaelson – Everybody
Willie NelsonAmerican Classic
The Postmarks Memoirs At The End Of The World
Smokey RobinsonTime Flies When You’re Having Fun
Luke VibertWe Hear You
Various ArtistsThe Rough Guide to Brazilian Lounge
Various Artists Wayfaring Strangers: Lonesome Heroes (Numero 028)
Third in Numero’s Wayfairing Strangers series, Lonesome Heroes is a yet another deep stab into the world of private-issue folk. Built around male singer-songwriters discovering their inner Cohen and Hardin, the seventeen-track compilation surveys the back roads of the American folk movement in the 1970s.


Patton OswaltMy Weakness Is Strong (Comedy Central special)